MEDICAL SPECIALTY INTEREST GROUPS AND STUDENT ORGANIZATIONS

CANCER/ONCOLOGY INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Andrew Hyde, athyde@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Michelle Chang, mechang@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- David Harris, dmh11@uab.edu

·       Secretary- Evelina Pierce, enpierce@uab.edu

·       Community Service- Jessica Whitaker, jwhitaker@uab.edu

·       Career Development- Ryan Khodadadi, khodadrb@uab.edu

 

CARDIOLOGY INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Mark Pepin, pepinme@uab.edu

·       President- Jenny Stevens, jls325@uab.edu

 

CARDIOTHORACIC SURGERY INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Ron Baxter, ronbax11@uab.edu

·       Vice-President-  Kayla Isbell, kayladan@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Sam Hong, shong09@uab.edu

·       Secretary- Kendall Douglass, ksd@uab.edu

·       Research Liaison- Travis Hull, tdhull@uab.edu

 

CHRISTIAN MEDICAL MINISTRY OF ALABAMA

Primary Contact: Bobby Parks, bjparks@briarwood.org

 

DERMATOLOGY INTEREST GROUP

·       President- 

·       Vice-President- Ashley Hudson, aahudson@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Evelina Pierce, enpierce@uab.edu

·       Secretary- Jessica Epperson, jessepp@uab.edu

·       Event Coordinators-

o   Devin Broadwater, devinb@uab.edu

o   Edward Chen, echen@uab.edu

o   Arianna Diamond, seahunt7@uab.edu

o   Caroline Kennemer, crk0006@uab.edu

o   Kerollos Shaker, kshaker@uab.edu

 

EMERGENCY MEDICINE INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Maggie Compton, mac71288@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Landon Mueller, lmueller@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Caleb Jones, cwj2009@uab.edu

 

ENT/OTOLARGYNOLOGY INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Matt May, mmmay@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Barrett Paulk, barretp@uab.edu

 

FAMILY MEDICINE INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Fowler Joiner, fjoiner@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Randy Turner, randytjr@uab.edu

·       Secretary/Treasurer- Scott Thomas, scottbthomas4@gmail.com; scott4@uab.edu

·       Community Service- Justin Evans, evansjb@uab.edu

·       Student Membership/AAFP Liaison- Clark Alves, jma0007@uab.edu

·       Primary Care Week- Alexus Perry, abperry@uab.edu

 

GERIATRICS STUDENT INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Katie Mascia, kmascia@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Robyn Stiff, rstiff@uab.edu

·       Secretary- Anna Worth, acworth@uab.edu

 

GLOBAL HEALTH INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Will Rutland, wrutland@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Georgia Gamble, gbgamble@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Erin Shufflebarger, eshuffle@uab.edu

·       Director of Community Engagement- Jesse Ross, jeross@uab.edu

·       Outreach Coordinator- Nico Herrera, lnherrer@uab.edu

·       Secretary- Rachael Sarrett, rsarrett@uab.edu

 

INFECTIOUS DISEASE INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Amaad Bashir Rana, abrana@uab.edu

·       Clinical Liaison- Emily Short, ens0001@uab.edu

 

INTEGRATIVE AND ALTERNATIVE MEDICINE INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Christopher Carey, crcarey@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Katherine Mascia, kmascia@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Xavier Baldwin, xlb0001@uab.edu

 

INTERNAL MEDICINE INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Chris McAtee, chrismc@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Jeremie Lever, jlever@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Winston Hong, whong@uab.edu

·       Secretary- James Lyons, jlyons27@uab.edu

·       Community Service Chair- Raj Vachhani, rajv@uab.edu

 

MED-PEDS INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Nathan Sherrer, nsherrer@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Elle Jamison, elleny@uab.edu

·       Secretary/Volunteer Chair- Katelynn Hillman, khillman@uab.edu

·       Treasurer/Fundraising Chair- Kevin Zhang, kjz0001@uab.edu

 

MEDICAL SPANISH INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Andrew Headrick, aheadric@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Joy DeShazo, jdeshazo@uab.edu

·       Education Coordinator- Lauren Theiss, theisslm@uab.edu

·       Education Coordinator- Steven Allon, saallon@uab.edu

 

MILITARY MEDICINE INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Dennis Winn, dkwinn@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Robertson Pearce, mrpearce@uab.edu

·       Secretary- Devin Broadwater, devinb@uab.edu

·       Social Chair- Megan Ayres, mayres@uab.edu

 

NEUROSURGERY INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Devin Broadwater, devib@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Patrick Vande Lune,  pvandelu@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Bhageeradh Mulpur, bmulpur@uab.edu

 

NUTS ABOUT PEDS (PEDIATRICS INTEREST GROUP)

·       President- Abby Calametti, abigailc@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Samantha Haggerty, slhag@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Andrew Watson, awatson9@uab.edu

·       Secretary- Cherie Mulhern, kcherie@uab.edu

·       Summit Scholars Coordinator- Ashley Hudson, aahudson@uab.edu

 

OB/GYN INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Latrice Johnston, llj0001@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Caroline Kennemer, crk0006@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Meg Gardner, meg10@uab.edu

·       Secretary- Chelsea Turgeon, cturgeon@uab.edu

 

OPHTHALMOLOGY INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Kavita Nadendla, kdevi@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Jeffrey Tapley, jltapley@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Austin Starnes, astarnes@uab.edu

·       Secretary- Adam Jacobs, apjacobs@uab.edu

 

ORTHOPEDICS INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Breann Tisano, bkt6@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Brad Young, bly0001@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Lauren Theiss, theisslm@uab.edu

·       Secretary- Roshmi Bhattacharya, roshmi@uab.edu

 

PATHOLOGY INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Jaskirat Sethi, jss01@uab.edu

·       Vice-President/ Treasurer- Alex Mann, smann15@uab.edu

·       Treasurer/Vice-President- Ashley Ellis, adellis@uab.edu

 

PHYSICAL MEDICINE AND REHABILITATION INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Tripp Ference, ference@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Joy Deshazo, jdeshazo@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Chris Graves, cegraves@uab.edu

 

PLASTIC SURGERY INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Neel Ranganath, nkr5@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Chelsea Cernosek, cernosek@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Gianfranco Frojo, Frojo@uab.edu

 

RADIOLOGY INTEREST GROUP

·       President- Chase Mitchell, chasemit@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Madison Plash, mplash@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Ashish Patel, avp@uab.edu

·       Secretary- David Harris, dmh11@uab.edu

·       Community Service Rep- 

INTERVENTIONAL RADIOLOGY INTEREST GROUP

  1. President: Janelle T West <jtwest@uab.edu> - MS4
  2. Vice president: Mina S. Mousa <msm3w3@uab.edu>  - MS4
  3. Treasurer: Kerollos A Shaker <kshaker@uab.edu> - MS3
  4. Secretary: Patrick Vande Lune <pvandelu@uab.edu> - MS2
  5. Officer/class rep: Andrew C Prince <aprince1@uab.edu> - MS2

STUDENT INTEREST GROUP IN ANESTHESIOLOGY

·       President- Matt Carlisle, mattac@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Adam Lam, adamlam@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Ariana Diamond, seahunt7@uab.edu

·       Secretary- Lovepreet Singh, lxsingh@uab.edu

 

STUDENT INTEREST GROUP IN NEUROLOGY

·       President- Stephen Walker, swalker7@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Linnea Pepper, linneacm@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Lindsay Moore, lsmoore2@uab.edu

 

STUDENT INTEREST GROUP IN PSYCHIATRY

·       President- Steven Allon, saallon@uab.edu

·       President- Jennifer Hadley, jahadley@uab.edu

·       Vice-President- Janelle West, jtwest@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Austin Luker, aluker@uab.edu

·       Secretary- Mikael Guzman Karlsson, mkguzman@uab.edu

·       Research Liaison- Jarrod Meadows, jpmeado1@uab.edu

 

SURGERY INTEREST GROUP

·       President- TBD

·       Vice-President- Nathan Haywood, nshaywoo@uab.edu

·       Treasurer- Kyle Gennaro, gennaro@uab.edu

·       Secretary- Riley Camp, rscamp@uab.edu